One is the loneliest prepper number

Photo source: Mother Nature Network

The responses to Wren’s post on why preppers prep raised another question in my mind. How many people know you’re a prepper?

I’ll be the first to admit I’m not very open with my prepper lifestyle. Wren is one of a handful of people in my offline life that know about my prepper passions. Most of them consider it to be an eccentric hobby (at best). I’ve never told my coworkers because I don’t want it coming up in office discussions. Most of my friends don’t know, although I’m not even sure if they know what a prepper is, so that would require an entirely different type of conversation.

In my experience many preppers, especially those of us who live in urban areas, avoid revealing this side of ourselves for fear of what others will think. It’s like middle school all over again – even if you can’t the most popular, you definitely don’t want to be the weird one.

I do know a few people who have publicly embraced their prepper personas, and I respect them for that. At the end of the day they’re being honest with themselves and with others, and I think they’ll be happier for it.

All that being said, I still don’t think I’m at the point where I’m willing to go public. I’m still afraid of what others will think, of how it will affect my relationships with non-preppers, of the potential career implications. Hopefully I’ll get there one day, but that day is probably a few years down the line. So I guess it will depend on if we make it to that point.

The thing that I really struggle with in all of this is my family. They don’t know, and I’m not sure how they would react if they found out (I have a feeling it wouldn’t be 100% positive). I don’t want to tell them because I think they’re happier not knowing.

But this is where my prepper guilt kicks in. What if the apocalypse happens and I haven’t told them? What if they don’t survive? What if I could have made a difference in their survival chances by telling them?

For the moment my guilt is lessened by the knowledge that informing someone you think the apocalypse is going to happen isn’t enough. They have to prepare themselves and they have to want to survive. My family also lives on the other side of the country, so my guilt is also lessened by knowing that there would be little I could feasibly do to help them at the time of the apocalypse. But the guilt is still there.

How public are you with your identity as a prepper? What problems have you had in telling others about your lifestyle?
-Kennedy

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About theurbanapocalypse

We are two urbanites on a mission: To survive. We believe that the apocalypse is coming and that everyone has what they need to survive in the aftermath...they just don't know how to use it. Our purpose with this blog is to provide readers with the handy information they need to be prepared. Now before you write us off as crazy; know that we are just like you. Wren is a PR professional living on the west coast. She's active, clever, artistic, has an awesome dog, and thinks that cheese is the best food on the planet. Kennedy is in Finance on the east coast. She's an amazing cook, planner, yoga enthusiast, wine lover, and is the smarter, more down to earth of the two.

3 responses to “One is the loneliest prepper number”

  1. ftcannonball says :

    I can relate, outside of my family and a couple friends I do not talk about it with people. Dude, you owe it to your family to talk about this ( as long as they aren’t babies of course :-). You don’t have to blow your kids minds with conspiracies, just teach them how to do stuff they need to know for prepping. We are only as good as our weakest link right? Community will be a huge key in who succeeds in hard times and who doesn’t. Don’t be a lone wolf.

    I don’t know if you like the survivalpodcast.com or not but this episode is a good one about how to talk with others about prepping:

    http://www.thesurvivalpodcast.com/episode-887-how-to-talk-to-others-about-prepping

  2. poliadic says :

    When I was younger I’d probably share, but then again I was the weird kid.. and frankly I’m probably the weird adult. Now I wouldn’t consider myself a “prepper” in the way most think of the term, but if I did I would probably not bother with sharing.

    I kind of look at the prepper thing the same way as I look at religion, either you have a natural inclination for it (or something happened to create the inclincation) or you don’t… telling other people about why they should also care will generally result in either A. irritating people or B. likeminded conversation, but is unlikely to result in C. a sudden desire to start prepping.

  3. Brenda says :

    I can relate to this. I’ve been laughed at a few times. Fortunately all of my close family members are preppers themselves in varying degrees. I wish people would get their heads out of the sand, but I’m not sure you can do anything to convince them. A lot of people won’t get it until it’s too late.

Leave a Reply

