Why do preppers prep?

coke

Logo via whig.com

Some of us are preppers because we genuinely believe the world is slated to end in our life times and we want to survive. Some of are trying to escape a world dying in its own puddle of creed and corporate interest. Some of us are simply terrified and don’t want to take unnecessary risks. We work to gain skills, gather supplies, make plans, and prepare for the worst so that we have the chance to outrun it. What does prepping feel like to you? Is it a form of power? Does it ebb your fears? Do you feel safe?

Let me tell you what it’s like for me. Prepping for me is an emotional release. To be honest, sometimes I really wish the world as we know it would end. Sometimes I feel at my most powerful when I’m staring into nature and I know I control nothing. Sometimes I wish the apocalypse would happen and that I wouldn’t care. I actually dream about it – sometimes I’m terrified and sometimes it feels right. I wish I wasn’t afraid of cancer or failing or debt or technology – I wish I only had time to focus on the next little milestone, making it through the season, having enough food.

Is it crazy that the end of the world almost seems pleasant? I don’t think so. That’s why I prep and write about prepping, and keep writing about prepping – I’m just exactly that anticipatory. And petrified.

So “why don’t you go off grid?” you may ask. Well…why don’t you? Because the pull of community is too strong at this age and because there are still things I want to achieve that don’t envolve gathering enough animal hides to stay warm in the winter. Maybe one day I will be that person who disappears into the woods to build a new life but right now I’m just a prepper – a hyped up enthusiastic mess.

Sort of like the country of Bolivia. Word on the street is the Bolivian government genuinely believes the apocalypse will occur on December 21, 2012 (didn’t they get the memo about the new Mayan calendar?). In anticipation for the glorious event the government has banned the consumption of Coca-Cola. Yup. Coke’s getting booted from Bolivia in anticipation for “the end of capitalism and the start of a culture of life.”

This is certainly a case where I agree with the conclusion (apocalypse = better life) but I find the premises a bit shifty (Mayan calendar yielding the date, corporations are evil). All well, to each their own.

So tell us – what’s your “own” – preppers, why do you prep?

– Wren

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About theurbanapocalypse

We are two urbanites on a mission: To survive. We believe that the apocalypse is coming and that everyone has what they need to survive in the aftermath...they just don't know how to use it. Our purpose with this blog is to provide readers with the handy information they need to be prepared. Now before you write us off as crazy; know that we are just like you. Wren is a PR professional living on the west coast. She's active, clever, artistic, has an awesome dog, and thinks that cheese is the best food on the planet. Kennedy is in Finance on the east coast. She's an amazing cook, planner, yoga enthusiast, wine lover, and is the smarter, more down to earth of the two.

5 responses to “Why do preppers prep?”

  1. thedailycheesenews says :

    Prepping for what ever reason is a good thing.
    Maybe if more had prepared their finances and not signed on to the banker scams we would not be in such a mess.
    When prepping the first thing you do is take a hard look at the life your living, today that’s a good thing.
    We need change and if prepping starts people on that path I for one say go for it….

  2. 1wanderingtruthseeker says :

    I have been prepping for about 2 years. I have fallen behind. I know I need to do more. There is so much stuff I need. I guess you could say I’m a lazy prepper. If you want to test your prepping skills, try a weekend with no electrical power. Run around looking for flashlights (one that has full powered batteries.), How would you go about fixing meals? Where would you get water? And heaven forbid someone gets hurt. For an even more realistic test, go into the woods with just the stuff you have prepped.

  3. cromwell says :

    I prep. Have done for years. God bless you in your endeavours. To survive is not to surrender. That, in an age of falsehoods, is a good place to be.

  4. Jason B. says :

    I started prepping just because I felt about about buying food storage and guns versus buying a Harley. Now after having my eyes opened I see it is for a far greater purpose and more important than I had ever imagined. Still having a tough time waking up all of my family though!

Leave a Reply

